Finished: Floral Maxi Dress McCall’s M7121

Floral Maxi Dress McCall's M7121

Hey friends!

It’s a beautiful Saturday here in Chicago. I hope you are enjoying the bright sun and crisp fall air wherever you are. I, on the other hand, have been laid out sick this weekend. I don’t know if it’s the flu or what, but my roommate and I have been laid out on the couches, groaning and praying for the end to come swiftly. We make quite the pair. Don’t you wish you were here?? Huh??

Anyways, I’ll spare you the details of my weekend stuck indoors (seriously, is there anything worse than that when it’s beautiful outside?) and instead share some details on a dress I made recently.

Maxi Floral Navy Blue Dress

The pattern is McCall’s M7121, and the intense obsession to make this dress was inspired by MimiG’s review here. The obsession was so encompassing that I probably should’ve picked a different jersey that had a bit more structure to it. But I threw my cares to the wind and jumped in.

McCall's Maxi Dress M7121

I had been wanting to make a long maxi dress for the summer and was pretty swept away by this fabric. It’s a lightweight, mid-stretch jersey that has a beautiful drape to it. I bought three yards but almost didn’t have enough for the pattern to be cut against the grain line like the pattern directed. Hence the awkward placement of the flowers on the bodice.

McCall's M7121 Blue Floral Maxi Dress

McCall's M7121 Blue Floral Maxi Dress

I love the cut of the pattern. It’s got a nice v neck in the front and back, and the skirt is cut in such a way as to hang off the body in a flattering way. Plus it’s super quick and easy to sew, (only 4 pattern pieces) and sometimes you just need some quick satisfaction, right??

McCall's M7121 Navy Blue Maxi Dress

In a few of these pictures, the back bodice has an unsightly bulge, but that’s just the way I’m standing. I also did a photo shoot a few weeks back in this dress with a friend of mine who is an amazing photographer. Check out his website here, and below are some pictures from that shoot. I’m off to drench myself in more tea and soup. Have an amazing day friends, and be well!

Thanks Josh!
Thanks Josh!

McCalls M7121 Blue Maxi Dress

McCall's M7121 Blue Maxi Dress

Leave a Reply

